My idea of heaven!

Having just fulfilled a life’s dream of actually having a library of my own, albeit very small and petite, the room is only big enough for four of my ten bookcases + a sofa so the others are dotted around the living room and house, I came across this wonderful article all about libraries!

http://flavorwire.com/261320/20-beautiful-private-and-personal-libraries?all=1

Thanks to Beattie’s Book Blog for that one! : http://beattiesbookblog.blogspot.com/

Ahhhhhh!!!!!!! What heaven!

12 thoughts on “My idea of heaven!

  1. I agree it is heaven! I love books and hope to have my own library some day. Stop by and say hi :)

    • I WILL! :D Yes…I too just adore libraries, the smell of them, the atmosphere. Even as a little girl I remembered being utterly awe struck the first time I went to one! :)

  2. Omgosh! those bookshelves look so cool! Thanks for sharing!

  3. How nice for you– I can’t wait to have my own library!

    • Lol! Thanks honey, but it is a little room – red walls, an old battered leather sofa, woodblock floor, a copy of an old map of Gloucestershire (c1610), a print of Waterhouse’s ‘The Lady of Shalott’, my framed letter from Lynda La Plante and…four oak bookcases…ahhhh…intimate, small, but perfectly formed! :D

    • Isn’t it? It’s so funny, as a kid I was always drawing plans of my ideal home…you know the kind of thing, real flights of fancy, bizarre round homes, houses with living trees growing through them, mansions etc etc. I used to design and draw out each room in minute detail…but the first room I always used to draw was a library! Galleried libraries, secret door libraries, libraries so huge you couldn’t see the ceiling…ahhh! Just bliss! :D

      • I always wanted one of those sliding ladders that wiz along on rails so you can climb up to the top shelves. Obviously would entail having a massive library with very high selves! :D

  4. Ooooh yes! I LOVE those sliding ladders! Wouldn’t that be a dream? :D

Leave a Reply

