Techno-idiot gets another award – One Lovely Blog Award!

Okay… *hangs head in shame* nearly two months ago, 24th September in fact, I was nominated by my good friend, fellow fantasy writer and dragon lover, Lindsey J Parsons, for the One Lovely Blog Award.

I was utterly thrilled at the time and thanked Lindsey, intending of course to pay the compliment on as soon as I could. Then, only a few days later my debut novel was published and all hell broke loose…well actually, a glorious, manic, wondrous, bewildering, overwhelming and amazing rollercoaster from which I am only now catching my breath!

But I would love to say a MASSIVE thank you to the lovely Lindsey J Parsons, for very kindly nominating me for this award. Lindsey Parsons is an extraordinary writer, a real visionary with a gift for characterisation, plot and that magical something that makes you fall in love with a story, and I’m very proud to call her my friend. If you haven’t already, please check out her wonderful blog: http://lindseyjparsons.wordpress.com AND please check out her astonishing debut novel, Vortex, available on Amazon.co.uk & Amazon.com in paperback, hardback and ebook:  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Vortex-Vol-1-Return-Effra/dp/0957283806/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1352656297&sr=8-2

Product Details

Here are the rules:

Include the blog award logo in your post.

Thank the person who nominated you.

Provide 7 random facts about yourself.

Nominate 7 other blogs and let them know you have done so.

*****

So,  7 random facts!

1. I am absolutely and irrationally PETRIFIED of spiders!!!!! Snakes don’t bother me, neither do sharks, heights (though I get a bit wobbly in the knees), mice, the dark, jellyfish etc. But let me come across an eight legged freak of nature walking on the ceiling (ready to drop on my head), dangling from a web or scuttling across the floor at a startlingly demonic pace and I FREAK OUT!!! Ughhhhh! What makes matters worse, is that I seem to be incredibly attractive to the horrible little blighter’s. Seriously, if there is a spider in a room or a seven mile radius, it WILL head straight for me – it’s even been noticed by others that I’m like cat-nip for the nasty things….ughhhh!

2. My beautiful gorgeous white wolves, Korrun and Tolly (Tollam), are named after characters in my debut novel, White Mountain – Book 1 of The Darkling Chronicles…oh, and my last house, Fendellin, was named after a hidden kingdom in the book! 😀

3. I have a profoundly deep connection to nature and natural landscapes that I can’t quite explain and which often brings me to tears (daft I know), but I’m never happier than when I’m ‘lost in a landscape’…preferably with no humans around, just silence and water and birdsong…ahhhh!

4. Despite my sensible exterior and very sensible job, I am completely immature and I LOVE the fact that I’ve never grown up and lost that childlike innocence and sense of wonder. I love showing my kids cool lightsabre moves, high-kicking in class, discussing Star Wars etc, I love go-karting, I love watching fantasy and sci-fi films and am obsessed by Marvel and DC comics and films! Really…I want to be a Buffy the Vampire Slayer or a comic book superhero!

5. I know I’ve said this before…but I LOVE Marmite! A very British phenomenon, but I grew up with it and still adore it! 😛

6. I love Italy, the country, the people, the culture, the language, the food…everything about it!

7. If I were ever to emigrate, I’d definitely live in New Zealand. I spent four months travelling around that wondrous country, falling in love with every inch of it and letting the road take me where it wanted…a truly magical place! If you’re lucky enough to go…IT WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE!!!!!

*****

Now to nominate 7 other great bloggers for this lovely award…tricky to pick only 7!

Right, well I’ve got to mention the lovely Lindsey Parsons who so kindly nominated me and I’d also like to mention her list of wonderful bloggers too: Will Macmillan Jones http://willmacmillanjones.wordpress.com/  Kay Kauffman http://suddenlytheyalldied.com/  Katrina Jack http://kateannejack.wordpress.com/  and Lisa Wiedmeier http://lisawiedmeier.blogspot.co.uk/ .

Now for my 7 nominations (in no order)

Ryan Holmes (Griffin’s Quill) http://griffinsquill.com/

Tricia Drammeh http://theclaimingwords.com/

Ashen Venema http://courseofmirrors.wordpress.com/

Morgen Bailey http://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/

Debbie Young http://youngbyname.me/

Andrea Baker http://www.andreabakerauthor.com/

That Fantasy Blog http://thatfantasyblog.com/

I know it’s bending the rules, but I would also like to mention Mandy Ward’s great blog (Welcome To Wherever) http://welcometowherever.wordpress.com/ and Fantasy in Motion http://fantasyinmotion.wordpress.com/

Again HUGE thanks to Lindsey J Parsons for her very kind nomination, thanks honey! 😀 xx

16 thoughts on “Techno-idiot gets another award – One Lovely Blog Award!

  1. tricia says:

    Thank you for the nomination, Sophie. You are such a sweetheart. Your blog is definitely well-deserving and lovely. Now I’ll have to live up your nomination.

  2. Entirely my pleasure sweetie, I couldn’t think of anyone more deserving! 😀 xx

  3. Kay Kauffman says:

    Aww, thank you for the mention, love! 🙂

  4. I’m tremendously grateful, Sophie, for your appreciation of my blog, and for your support. And, as you guessed, I can’t honour the rules – being showered under with tasks, apart from coordinating for a published book I co-edited two years ago into an e-book on all platforms, doing revision for CoM and writing the sequel – on top of my work, seeing clients.
    But I promise to visit every single site you mention, and if I like what I see and read, leave positive signs. One person, apart from you, that totally blows my mind is Morgen Bailey. I’ll never be able to live up to the energy output and generosity in terms of supporting other writers 🙂 This just to say, I’m grateful to all of you, this whole community of writers out there. It makes me feel less lonely. I give what I can.

    • Well you know I love your blog, musings and writing, Ashen! Always the highest quality, thought provoking, meditative, subtle, multi-layered and wonderfully unique. A breath of fresh ocean air in a sea of medocrity! 😀 xx

  5. Sophie I am blushing so badly now!!! Thank you SOOOOOOOOOOO much for your incredibly kind words!! You so deserve this award, you are truly an inspiration!!
    I’m with you on the spider thing! they really creep me out too!!
    Thank you again! 😀

    • Lol! Lindsey, I couldn’t have been more thrilled by your nomination. Seriously honey, I am so sorry for the dreadfully long delay, but I am SO appreciative too, to be able to call you my mate! Thank YOU honey!

      Oh, and yes, aren’t spiders just the worst?! Urghhhh! 😛 xx

  6. Spiders are certainly creepy looking buggers. On a side note: (if you turn this down, I understand):
    You’ve Been Nominated
    Hi. I just nominated you for a Very Inspiring Blog Award. Not sure of the exact rules, who started it, or where to find the exact rules. I think you are supposed to nominate 15 other blogs when you accept (kind of like chain letter/pyramid type advertising) but I know I won’t be advertising that many). Anyway, it only serves to help promote your blog. For more info, check out the appropriate post at my site on A Toast To Dragons. (The pasting of links hasn’t work on the last couple of sites, so in case it fails on yours, here’s the url: http://www.atoasttodragons.com).

  7. […] of how much I have to be thankful for. Today, I’m thankful to the brilliantly talented Sophie Tallis for nominating me for the One Lovely Blog […]

    • You are entirely welcome and VERY deserving!!! I LOVE your blog honey, fantastic content, great visuals, brilliant writing, articles, reviews, interviews…where do I stop?! 😀 xx

  8. […] by Richard Godwin at his Slaughterhouse! On the 21st I woke up to a comment on my blog from Sophie E Tallis and a p.s. that she’d nominated me for a One Lovely Blog Award. Then I submitted a 55-word […]

Leave a Reply

