David Bowie – 1947-2016

I have no words…have been in tears all day so I’ve leave it to the wonderful words of my friend, Joanne Hall. Devastating news today, the end of an era and a real vacuum has been left. RIP David Bowie, we all love you. ❤ xxx

Joanne Hall

I’m 38, and I can’t remember a time in my life when I wasn’t aware of David Bowie on some level. His music was always around, it seemed to permeate the air. Even though I was growing up in the eighties, when Bowie had somewhat fallen from favour. I remember seeing the Ashes to Ashes video, and being weirded out by the clowns. I remember feeling sad for poor Major Tom. I remember the garish video for Dancing in the Street on Top of the Pops. Along with many girls my age, seeing The Goblin King in Labyrinth on the big screen was a (ahem!) formative and educational experience…

I got into David Bowie through listening to bands who had been influenced by him. More specifically, I got into David Bowie via my love of Suede, who made no secret of their own love for him – it pretty much…

View original post 239 more words

Leave a Reply

